Announcements

You can find reminders on homework deadlines, upcoming exams, changes to the office hours schedule (if needed), etc. here! Make sure you check this section at least once a week!


Office Hours


Week 1 | 01/25/2021 - 01/31/2021

Lectures

Topic Video Mirror Notes
1.1 Welcome to STAT 107 [YouTube] [Media Space] [Syllabus]
1.2 [Python] Installing & Troubleshooting [YouTube] [Media Space] [Mac OS X] [Windows]
1.3 [Python] File Directory [YouTube] [Media Space] [1.3]
Lab 01 [lab01]
1.4 [Stat] Statistics & Statistic [YouTube] [Media Space] [1.4]
1.5 [Stat] Data & Variables [YouTube] [Media Space] [1.5]

Week 2 | 02/01/2021 - 02/07/2021

Lectures

Topic Video Mirror Notes
2.1 [Python] Variables [YouTube] [Media Space] [2.1]
2.2 [Python] Data Types [YouTube] [Media Space] [2.2]
2.3 [Python] Control Flow [YouTube] [Media Space] [2.3]
Lab 02 [lab02]
2.4 [Stat] Statistical Study Designs [YouTube] [Media Space] [2.4]
2.5 [Stat] Sampling Methods [YouTube] [Media Space] [2.5]

Deadlines

Assignment Deadline Credit
Lab 01 11:59 PM Tue 02/02/2021 100%

Week 3 | 02/08/2021 - 02/14/2021

Lectures

Topic Video Mirror Notes
3.1 [Python] List [YouTube] [Media Space] [3.1]
3.2 [Python] Function [YouTube] [Media Space] [3.2]
Lab 03 [lab03]
3.3 [Stat] Measures of Center & Variability [YouTube] [Media Space] [3.3]
3.4 [Stat] Distributions - Shape of the Data [YouTube] [Media Space] [3.4]

Deadlines

Assignment Deadline Credit
Lab 02 11:59 PM Tue 02/09/2021 100%
HW 01 11:59 PM Fri 02/12/2021 100%
HW 01 11:59 PM Sun 02/14/2021 80%

Week 4 | 02/15/2021- 02/21/2021

Lectures

  • No Lab/Discussion Session this week due to break - Wed 02/17/2021.
Topic Video Mirror Notes
4.1 [Python] Loops [YouTube] [Media Space] [4.1]
4.2 [Stat] Basic Probability [YouTube] [Media Space] [4.2]
4.3 [Stat] Set Theory [YouTube] [Media Space] [4.3]
4.4 [Stat] Probability Rules [YouTube] [Media Space] [4.4]

Deadlines

Assignment Deadline Credit
Lab 03 11:59 PM Tue 02/16/2021 100%
HW 02 11:59 PM Fri 02/19/2021 100%
HW 02 11:59 PM Sun 02/21/2021 80%

Week 5 | 02/22/2021 - 02/28/2021

Lectures

Topic Video Mirror Notes
5.1 [Python] Importing Data [YouTube] [Media Space] [5.1]
5.2 [Stat] Conditional Probability [YouTube] [Media Space] [5.2]
Lab 04 [lab04]
5.2 [Stat] Bayes’ Theorem [YouTube] [Media Space] [5.3]
5.3 [Stat] Independent Events [YouTube] [Media Space] [5.4]
5.4 [Stat] Sample With/Without Replacement [YouTube] [Media Space] [5.5]

Deadlines

Assignment Deadline Credit
HW 03 11:59 PM Fri 02/26/2021 100%
HW 03 11:59 PM Sun 02/28/2020 80%

Week 6 | 03/01/2021 - 03/07/2021

Lectures

  • No Lab/Discussion Session this week due to Exam 1.
Topic Video Mirror Notes
6.1 [Stat] Discrete Variables & Distributions [YouTube] [Media Space] [6.1]
6.2 [Stat] Expected Value, Variance & SD of Discrete Variable [YouTube] [Media Space] [6.2]

Deadlines

Assignment Deadline Credit
Exam 1 7:00 PM Mon 03/01/2021 100%
Lab 04 11:59 PM Tue 03/02/2021 100%
HW 04 11:59 PM Fri 03/05/2021 100%
HW 04 11:59 PM Sun 03/07/2021 80%

Week 7 | 03/08/2021 - 03/14/2021

Lectures

Topic Video Mirror Notes
7.1 [Python] Plotting Data [YouTube] [Media Space] [7.1]
7.2 [Stat] Binomial Distribution [YouTube] [Media Space] [7.2]
Lab 05 [lab05]
7.3 [Stat] Geometric Distribution [YouTube] [Media Space] [7.3]
7.4 [Stat] Normal Distribution [YouTube] [Media Space] [7.4]

Deadlines

  • No deadline this week.

Week 8 | 03/15/2021 - 03/21/2021

Lectures

Topic Video Mirror Notes
8.1 [Python] DataFrame [YouTube] [Media Space] [8.1]
8.2 [Stat] More Normal Distributions Examples [YouTube] [Media Space] [8.2]
Lab 06 [YouTube] [Media Space] [lab06]
8.3 [Stat] Central Limit Theorem [YouTube] [Media Space] [8.3]
8.4 [Stat] More Central Limit Theorem Examples [YouTube] [Media Space] [8.4]

Deadlines

Assignment Deadline Credit
Lab 05 11:59 PM Tue 03/16/2021 100%
HW 05 11:59 PM Fri 03/19/2021 100%
HW 05 11:59 PM Sun 03/21/2021 80%

Week 9 | 03/22/2021 - 03/28/2021

Lectures

  • No Lab/Discussion Session this week due to break - Wed 03/24/2021.
Topic Video Mirror Notes
9.1 [Python] Simulations [YouTube] [Media Space] [9.1]
9.2 [Stat] Confidence Interval for Population Mean [YouTube] [Media Space] [9.2]
9.3 [Stat] Confidence Interval for Population Proportion [YouTube] [Media Space] [9.3]

Deadlines

Assignment Deadline Credit
Lab 06 11:59 PM Tue 03/23/2021 100%
HW 06 11:59 PM Fri 03/26/2021 100%
HW 06 11:59 PM Sun 03/28/2021 80%

Week 10 | 03/29/2021 - 04/04/2021

Lectures

  • The project will be released on Wed 03/31/2021.
Topic Video Mirror Notes
10.1 [Stat] What Does A 95% Confidence Interval Mean? [YouTube] [Media Space] [10.1]
Lab 07 [lab07]
10.2 [Python] Bootstrapping [YouTube] [Media Space] [10.2]
10.3 [Stat] What is a Hypothesis Test? [YouTube] [Media Space] [10.3]

Deadlines

Assignment Deadline Credit
HW 07 11:59 PM Fri 04/02/2021 100%
HW 07 11:59 PM Sun 04/04/2021 80%

Week 11 | 04/05/2021 - 04/11/2021

Lectures

Topic Video Mirror Notes
11.1 [Stat] Hypothesis Test for Population Mean - z-test [YouTube] [Media Space] [11.1]
Lab 08 [lab08]
11.2 [Stat] Hypothesis Test for Population Mean - t-test [YouTube] [Media Space] [11.2]
11.3 [Stat] Hypothesis Test for Population Proportion [YouTube] [Media Space] [11.3]

Deadlines

Assignment Deadline Credit
Lab 07 11:59 PM Tue 03/23/2021 100%
Project 11:59 PM Sun 04/11/2021 100%

Week 12 | 04/12/2021 - 04/18/2021

Lectures

Topic Video Mirror Notes
12.1 [Stat] Confidence Interval for the Difference of 2 Means [YouTube] [Media Space] [12.1]
12.2 [Stat] Hypothesis Test for Two Means [YouTube] [Media Space] [12.2]
Lab 09 [lab09]
12.3 [Stat] Confidence Interval for the Difference of 2 Proportions [YouTube] [Media Space] [12.3]
12.4 [Stat] Hypothesis Test for Two Proportions [YouTube] [Media Space] [12.4]

Deadlines

Assignment Deadline Credit
Lab 08 11:59 PM Tue 04/13/2021 100%
HW 08 11:59 PM Fri 04/16/2021 100%
HW 08 11:59 PM Sun 04/18/2021 80%

Week 13 | 04/19/2021 - 04/25/2021

Lectures:

  • No Lab/Discussion Session this week due to Exam 2.
Topic Video Mirror Notes
13.1 [Stat] Measuring a Linear Relationship [YouTube] [Media Space] [13.1]
13.2 [Stat] Simple Linear Regression [YouTube] [Media Space] [13.2]

Deadlines

Assignment Deadline Credit
Exam 2 7:00 PM Mon 04/19/2021 100%
Lab 09 11:59 PM Tue 04/20/2021 100%
HW 09 11:59 PM Fri 04/23/2021 100%
HW 09 11:59 PM Sun 04/25/2021 80%

Week 14 | 04/26/2021 - 05/02/2021

Lectures:

Topic Video Mirror Notes
14.1 [Python] Data Aggregation [YouTube] [Media Space] [14.1]
Lab 10 [lab10]
14.2 [Stat] Permutation Test [YouTube] [Media Space] [14.2]

Deadlines

  • No deadline this week.

Week 15 | 05/03/2021 - 05/09/2021

Lectures

  • No lecture this week.

Deadlines

Assignment Deadline Credit
Lab 10 11:59 PM Tue 05/04/2021 100%
HW 10 11:59 PM Wed 05/05/2021 100%
11:59 PM Sun 05/09/2021 80%

Week 16 | 05/09/2021 - 05/16/2021

Final Exam: TBD


REMEMBER!

When in doubt, post your question on Piazza or email me at ! Don’t wait!